Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateEmmerson Dambudzo Mnangawa
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet23
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA270
Parties in NA4 + 1 Indp
Female MPs in NA9.26%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held6
Next General Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentEmmerson Dambudzo Mnangawa
Vice-President + Minister of Health and Child CareConstantino G.D.N. Chiwenga
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance and Economic DevelopmentMthuli. Ncube
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and International TradeFrederick Shava
DefenseMinister of Defence and War Veterans AffairsOppah Chamu Zvipange Muchinguri Kashiri
HealthMinister of Health and Child CareConstantino G.D.N. Chiwenga
JusticeMinister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary AffairsZiyambi Ziyambi
AgricultureMinister of Lands, Agriculture, Water, Climate and Rural SettlementsAnxious Jongwe Masuku
EnergyMinister of Energy and Power DevelopmentZhemu Soda
Natural ResourcesMinister of Mines and Mining DevelopmentWinston. Chitando
EducationMinister of Primary and Secondary EducationEvelyn Ndlovu
Minister of Higher and Tertiary Education, Science and Technology DevelopmentAmon Murwira
EconomyMinister of Industry and CommerceS.I. Nzenza
Minister of Women Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprises DevelopmentSithembiso G.G Nyoni
Digital/ITMinister of Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier ServicesJenfan Muswere
InteriorMinister of Home Affairs and Cultural HeritageKazembe Kazembe
MediaMinister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting ServicesMonica Mutswangwa
EnvironmentMinister of Environment, Climate Change, Tourism, and International TradeNqobizitha Mangaliso Ndlovu
LaborMinister of Public Service, Labour and Social WelfarePaul Mavimma
OthersMinister of Transport and Infrastructural DevelopmentFelix Mhona
Minister of Local Government, Public Works and National HousingJuly. G. Moyo
Minister of Youth, Sport, Arts and RecreationKirsty L. Coventry
Minister of National housing and Social AmenitiesDaniel Garwe

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Movement for Democratic Change (MDC)-Alliance1999510

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Movement for Democratic Change (MDC-T) - Khupe1
National Patriotic Front (NPF)1
Number of parties winning seats10
Number of parties contesting48
Female MPs9.26%
Voter turnoutn/a

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Emmerson MnangagwaZANU-PF50.68
Nelson ChamisaMDC-A44.39
Thokozani KhupeMDC-T (Khupe)0.94
Total no of candidates23
Voter Turnoutn/a

Voting System

  • PE: Each presidential candidate nominated with a nomination paper signed by at least 10 registered voters (at least 1 candidate from each province) and directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (no term limits)
  • NA: 210 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 60 seats reserved for women directly elected by proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook