Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateHakainde Hichilema
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet27
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA156
Parties in NA3 + 13 Indp
Female MPs in NA12.82%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held9
Next General Elections2026

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentHakainde Hichilema
Vice-PresidentMutale Nalumango
FinanceMinister of Finance and National PlaningSitumbeko Musokotwane
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs Stanley Kakubo
DefenseMinister of DefenseAmbrose Lwiji Lufuma
HealthMinister of HealthSylvia Masebo
JusticeMinister of JusticeMulambo Hamakuni Haimbe
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureReuben Mutolo Phiri
Minister of Livestock and Fisheries Makozo Chikote
EnergyMinister of EnergyPeter Chibwe Kapala
Natural ResourcesMinister of Mines and Minerals DevelopmentPaul Chanda Kabuswe
EducationMinister of Lands and Natural ResourcesElijah Julaki Muchima
EconomyMinister of EducationDouglas Munsaka Syakalima
Digital/ITMinister of Commerce and Trade Chipoka Mulenga
Minister of Technology and ScienceFelix C Mutati
InteriorMinister of Home Affairs and Internal securityJacob Jack Mwiimbu
MediaMinister of Information and MediaChushi C. Kasanda
EnvironmentMinister of Water Development and Sanitation Mike Elton Mphosa
Minister of Green Economy and EnvironmentCollins Nzovu
LaborMinister of Labour and Social SecurityBrenda Mwika Tambatamba
OthersMinister of Youth and SportElvis Chishala Nkandu
Minister of Community Development Doreen Mwamba
Minister of Tourism and ArtsRodney Sikumba
Minister of Infrastructure, Housing and Urban DevelopmentCharles Milupi
Minister of Local Government Gary G Nkombo
Minister of Small and Medium EnterprisesElias Mubanga
Minister of Transport and LogisticsFrank Tayali

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Patriotic Front (PF)2001523
United Party for National Development (UPND)1998511
Movement for Multiparty Democracy (MMD)1990645

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
United Party for National Development (UPND)82
Patriotic Front (PF)60
Party of National Unity and Progress1
Number of parties winning seats4
Number of parties contesting21
Female MPs12.82%
Voter turnout70.61%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Hakainde HichilemaUPND59
Edgar LunguPF38.7
Total no of candidates16
Voter Turnout70.61%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 156 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote in 2 rounds if needed, and up to 8 appointed by the president; members serve 5-year terms); 3 ex-officio members elected by National Assembly membership

Source: CIA World Factbook