Country Data


Last updated

Oct, 2022

President/Head of StateYoweri Kaguta Museveni
Prime MinisterRobinah Nabbanja
Size of Cabinet30
Female ministers12
National AssemblyParliament
Seats in NA529
Parties in NA7 + 74 Indps
Female MPs in NA32.26%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held4
Number of PE held3
Next General Elections2026

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentYoweri Kaguta Museveni
Vice PresidentJessica Rose Epel Alupo
Head of GovernmentPrime Minister and Leader of Government BusinessRobinah Nabbanja
First Vice Prime MinisterRebecca Kadaga
Second Vice Prime MinisterMoses Ali
Third Vice Prime MinisterRukia Nakadama
FinanceMinister of Finance, Planning and Economic DevelopmentMatia Kasaija
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsGen. Abubaker Jeje Odongo
DefenseMinister of Defence and Veteran AffairsVincent Bamulangaki Ssempijja
HealthMinister of HealthJane Ruth Aceng Ocero
JusticeMinister of Justice and Constitutional AffairsNorbert Mao
Attorney GeneralKiryowa Kiwanuka
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Animal Industry and FisheriesFrank Kagyigyi Tumwebaze
EnergyMinister of Energy and Mineral DevelopmentRuth Ssentamu Nankabirwa
EducationMinister of Education & SportsJanet Kataaha Museveni
EconomyMinister of Trade, Industry and CooperativesFrancis Mwebesa
Digital/ITMinister of Information, Communications Technology and National GuidanceChris Baryomunsi
Minister for Science, Technology and InnovationMonicah Masanza Musenero
InteriorMinister of Internal AffairsKahinda Otafiire
Minister for SecurityJim Katugugu Muhwezi
EnvironmentMinister of Water and the EnvironmentSam Mangusho Cheptoris
LaborMinister of Gender Labour and Social DevelopmentBetty Ongom Amongi
OthersMinister of Public ServiceWilson Muruli Mukasa
Minister of Works and TransportKatumba Wamala
Minister for Kampala and Metropolitan AffairsKyofatogabye Kabuye
Minister of Local GovernmentRafael Magyezi
Minister of Tourism, Wildlife and AntiquitiesTom Butime
Minister of Disaster Preparedeness and RefugeesHilary Obolaker Onek
Minister for the PresidencyMilly Babirye Babalanda
Minister in Charge of General Duties/Office of the Prime MinisterJustine Kasule Lumumba
Minister for Karamoja AffairsDr Maria Goretti Kimono Kitutu
Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban DevelopmentJudith Nabakooba
Chief WhipThomas Tayebwa

Main political parties

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
National Resistance Movement (NRM)1986446
Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)2004400
Democratic Party (DP)1954400
Uganda People's Congress (UPC)1960400
National Unity Platform (NUP) - (formerly, National Unity, Reconciliation and Development Party)100

Last NA election results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
National Resistance Movement (NRM)336
National Unity Platform (NUP)57
Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)32
Democratic Party (DP)9
Uganda People's Congress (UPC)9
People's Progressive Party (PPP)1
Justice Forum (JEMA)1
Number of parties winning seats7
Number of parties contesting14
Female MPs32.26%
Voter turnout59.35%

Last Presidential election results

Presidential elections  
Yoweri MuseveniNRM58.38
Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu (Bobi Wine)NUP35.08
Patrick Oboi AmuriatFDC3.26
Total no of candidates11
Voter turnout59.35%

Voting System

  • PE: resident directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (no term limits)
  • NA: 353 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote, 146 for women directly elected in single-seat districts by simple majority vote, and 30 „representatives“ reserved for special interest groups – army 10, disabled 5, youth 5, labor 5, older persons 5; 27 ex officio members appointed by the president; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook