Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateSaima Suluhu Hassan
Prime MinisterMajaliwa Kassim Majaliwa
Size of Cabinet28
National AssemblyBunge
Seats in NA377
Parties in NA4
Female MPs in NA36.87%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held6
Next General Elections2025

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentSaima Suluhu Hassan
Vice-PresidentPhilip Isdor Mpango
President of ZanzibarHussein Ali Mwinyi
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterMajaliwa Kassim Majaliwa
FinanceMinister of Finance and PlanningMwigulu Lameck Nchemba
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and East African CooperationBalozi Liberata Mulamula
DefenseMinister of Defense and National ServiceStergomena Lawrence Tax
HealthMinister of Community Development, Gender, Women and Special GroupsDorothy Onesphoro Gwajima
Minister of HealthUmmy Ally Mwalimu
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureHussein Bashe
Minister of Livestock and FisheriesMashimba Mashauri Ndaki
EnergyMinister of EnergyJanuary Yusuf Makamba
Natural ResourcesMinister of Natural Resources and TourismDamas Daniel Ndumbaro
Minister of MineralsDoto Mashaka Biteko
Minister of WaterJumaa Hamidu Aweso
EducationMinister of Education, Science and TechnologyAdolf Mkenda
EconomyMinister of Investment, Industry and TradeAshatu Kijaji
Digital/ITMinister for Information and Communications TechnologyNape Moses Nnauye
Minister of Works and TransportMakame Mnyaa Mbarawa
InteriorMinister of Home AffairsHamad Masauni
Minister for Constutional and Legal AffairsGeorge Boniface Taguluvala Simbachawene
OthersMinistry of Culture, Arts and SportsMohamed Mchengerwa
Minister of Lands, Housing and Human Settlements DevelopmentAngelina Mabula
Minister of State for Government AffairsGeorge Mkuchika
Minister of State Public Service Management and Good GovernanceJenista Mhagama
Minister of State Union Affairs and the EnvironmentSelemani Jafo
Minister of State Policy and Parliamentary AffairsPindi Chana
Minister of State Labour, Employment, Youth and Person with DisabilitiesJoyce Ndalichako
General AttorneyEliezer Feleshi

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Revolutionary Party of Tanzania / Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM)1977666
Chadema (Party for Democracy and Development)199360
Civic United Front / Chama cha Wananchi (CUF)1991/199360

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Revolutionary Party of Tanzania (CCM)350
Chadema (Party for Democracy and Development)20
ACT Wazalendo4
Civic United Front (CUF)3
Number of parties winning seats4
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs36.87%
Voter turnoutn/a

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
John MagufuliCCM84.4
Tundu LissuCHADEMA13.04
Bernard Kamillius MembeACT0.55
Total no of candidates15
Voter Turnout50.72%

Voting System

  • PE: President and vice president directly elected on the same ballot by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 264 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote, 113 women indirectly elected by proportional representation vote, 5 indirectly elected by simple majority vote by the Zanzibar House of Representatives, 10 appointed by the president, and 1 seat reserved for the attorney general; members serve a 5-year term); note – in addition to enacting laws that apply to the entire United Republic of Tanzania, the National Assembly enacts laws that apply only to the mainland; Zanzibar has its own House of Representatives or Baraza La Wawakilishi (82 seats; 50 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote, 20 women directly elected by proportional representation vote, 10 appointed by the Zanzibar president, 1 seat for the House speaker, and 1 ex-officio seat for the attorney general; elected members serve a 5-year term

Source: CIA World Factbook