Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateAbdel Fattah al-Burhan
Prime Ministervacant
Size of Cabinet24
National AssemblyMajlis Watani
Seats in NA426
Parties in NAdissolved
Female MPs in NAdissolved
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held3
Number of PE held3
Next GE Elections2022

List of cabinet

Head of StateChairman of the Transitional Sovereignty CouncilAbdel Fattah Al-Burhan
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance and Economy Jibril Ibrahim
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsAli Al Sadiq
DefenseMinister of Defence Ibrahim Yassin
HealthMinister of Health Haitham Mohamed Ibrahim
JusticeMinister of JusticeMohamed Saeed el Hilu
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and Natural Resources Abu Bakr Omar Al-Bushra
EnergyMinister of Energy and OilMohamed Abdallah Mahmud
Natural ResourcesMinister of Irrigation and Water Resources Daw Albait Abdulrahman Mansour
Ministry of MineralsMohamad Bashir Abdalla
EducationMinister of Education Mahmoud Sirelkhatim El Houri
Minister of Higher Education Mohamed Hassan Dahab Ahmed
EconomyMinister of IndustryBatul Abbas Awad Allam
Minister of Trade and SupplyAmal Salih Saad
Minister of Investment and International CooperationAhlam Medani Mahdi Sabeel
Digital/ITMinister of Communications and Digital TransformationAdel Hassan Mohamed Al-Hussein
InteriorMinister of Interior Anan Hamed Muhammad Omar
MediaMinister of Culture and InformationGraham Abdel-Qader
LaborMinister of Labor and Administrative ReformSuad Al-Tayyeb
OthersMinister of Youth and Sports Hazar Abdel-Rasoul Al-Ajab
Minister of Cabinet AffairsOsman Hussein
Minister of Federal GovernmentButhaina Dinar
Minister of Religious Affairs and EndowmentsAbdel-Atti Ahmed Abbas
Minister of Urban Development, Roads and BridgesAbu Bakr Abu al-Qasim

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
National Congress Party (NCP)1998333
Democratic Unionist Party–Original1967200
Federal Umma Party200
National Umma Party1945200

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
National Congress Party (NCP)323
Democratic Unionist Party-Original25
Democratic Unionist Party-Digair 15
Federal Umma Party7
Umma Reform and Development Party5
Democratic Unionist Party4
United Umma Party4
National Freedom and Justice Party4
Freedom and Justice Party3
National Umma Party3
Federal Truth Party2
National Bond Party1
Constitution Party1
Movement for Justice and Equality Party1
National Reform Party1
Popular Forces for Rights and Democracy Movement Party1
People's Movement Party1
Centre Party for Justice and Development1
General Federation of North and South Funj1
Ana al-Sudan1
Black Free1
Number of parties winning seats20
Number of parties contesting44
Female MPs30.52%
Voter turnout46.40%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Omar al-BashirNCP94.06
Fadl el-Sayed ShuiabFTP1.43
Total no of candidates16
Voter Turnout46.60%

Voting System

  • PE: n/a
  • NA: n/a

Source: CIA World Factbook