South Africa

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateMatamela Cyril Ramaphosa
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet30
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA400
Parties in NA14
Female MPs in NA44.75%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE heldn/a
Next NA Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentMatamela Cyril Ramaphosa
Vice-PresidentDavid Dabede Mabuza
Chief of StaffMinister in The Presidency (Planning, Monitoring, Evaluation)Mondli Gungubele
FinanceMinister of FinanceEnoch Godongwana
ForeignMinister of International Relations and CooperationGrace Naledi Mandisa Pandor
DefenseMinister of Defence and Military VeteransThandi Ruth Modise
HealthMinister of HealthDr Mathume Joseph Phaahla
JusticeMinister of Justice and Correctional ServicesRonald Ozzy Lamola
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural DevelopmentAngela Thokozile Didiza
EnergyMinister of Mineral Resources and EnergySamson Gwede Mantashe
Natural ResourcesMinister of Water and SanitationSenzo Mchunu
EducationMinister of Basic EducationMatsie Angelina Motshekga
Minister of Higher Education, Science and InnovationBonginkosi Emmanuel Nzimande
EconomyMinister of Trade and IndustryEbrahim Patel
Minister of Public EnterprisesPravin Jamnadas Gordhan
Minister of Small Business DevelopmentStella Tembisa Ndabeni-Abrahams
Digital/ITMinister of Communications and Digital TechnologiesKhumbudzo Ntshavheni
InteriorMinister of Home AffairsPakishe Aaron Motsoaledi
Minister of PoliceBhekokwakhe Hamilton Cele
EnvironmentMinister of Forestry, Fisheries and EnvironmentBarbara Dallas Creecy
LaborMinister of Employment and LabourThembelani Waltermade Thulas Nxesi
OthersMinister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional AffairsNkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma
Minister of Human SettlementsMmamoloko Tryphosa Kubayi-Ngubane
Minister within the Presidency, Minister of Women, Youth and Persons with DisabilitiesMaite Emily Nkoana-Mashabane
Minister of Public Service and AdministrationAyanda Dlodlo
Minister of Public Works and InfrastructurePatricia De Lille
Minister of Social DevelopmentLindiwe Daphne Zulu
Minister of Sport, Arts and CultureEmmanuel Nkosinathi Mthethwa
Minister of TourismLindiwe Sisulu
Minister of TransportFikile April Mbalula

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NA
African National Congress (ANC)191266
Democratic Alliance (DA)200050
Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)1975/199060
Freedom Front Plus (FF Plus)200450
Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)20

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
African National Congress (ANC)230
Democratic Alliance (DA)84
Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)44
Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)14
Freedom Front Plus (FF Plus)10
African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP)4
United Democratic Movement (UDM)2
African Transformation Movement (ATM)2
National Freedom Party (NFP)2
African Independent Congress (AIC)2
Congress of the People (COPE)2
Pan Africanist Congress (PAC)1
Al Jama'ah1
Number of parties winning seats14
Number of parties contesting48
Female MPs44.75%
Voter turnout66.05%

Voting System

  • PE: President indirectly elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote to serve 5-year terms)

Source: CIA World Factbook