Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateHassan Sheikh Mohamud
Prime MinisterMohamed Hussein Roble
Size of Cabinet28
National AssemblyGolaha Shacabka
Seats in NA275
Parties in NA0
Female MPs in NA19.64%
Term of National Assembly4 years
Term of President4 years
Number of NA Elections held4
Number of PE held6
Next NA Elections2026
Next Presidential Elections2026

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentHassan Sheikh Mohamud
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterHussein Roble
Deputy Prime MinisterMahdi Mohamed Guled
FinanceMinister of FinanceAbdirahman Dualeh Beileh
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and International CooperationAbdisaid Muse Ali
DefenseMinister of DefenseAbdulkadir Mohamed Nur
HealthMinister of HealthFowsiya Abiikar Nur
JusticeMinister of Justice and Judicial AffairsHassan Hussein Haji
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and IrrigationSaid Hussein Eid
Minister of Livestock, Forestry and RangeMohamed Adam Mo'alim
Ministers of Fisheries and Maritime ResourcesAbdillahi Bidhan Warsame
EnergyMinister of Energy and Water ResourcesHassan Abdinur Abdi
Natural ResourcesMinister of Petroleum and MineralAbdirashiid Mohamed Ahmed
EducationMinister of Education, Culture and Higher EducationAbdullahi Abukar Haji
EconomyMinister of Commerce and IndustryKhalif Abdi Omar
Minister of Planning, Investment and Economic PromotionGamal Mohamed Hassan
Digital/ITMinister of Posts, Telecommunications and TechnologyAbdi Sheikh Ahmed Roble
InteriorMinister of the Interior, Federal Affairs and ReconciliationMukhtar Hassan Afrax
MediaMinister of Information, Culture and TourismOsman Abukar Dubbe
LaborMinister of Labor and Social AffairsAbdiwahab Ugas Hussein Khalif
OthersMinister of Endowments and Religious AffairsOmar Ali Roble
Minister of Constitutional AffairsSalah Ahmed Jama
Minister of Ports and Maritime TransportMaryan Aweys Jama
Minister of Transport and Civil AviationDuran Ahmed Farah
Minister of Public Works and ReconstructionHussein Sheikh Mohamud Hussein
Minister of Women and Human RightsHanifa Mohamed Ibrahim
Minister of Youth and SportsHaze Said Hamze
Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Risk ManagementKhadija Mohamed Dirrie
Minister of Internal Security Abdullahi Mohamed Nur

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Peace and Development Party (PDP)2011002
Tayo Political Party (TPP)2012001

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
274 members indirectly elected
Female MPs19.64%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections    
2022Party1st Round2nd round3rd round
Said Abdullahi DaniKaah20.1921.00
Mohamed Abdullahi MohamedTPP18.3225.7033.95
Hassan Sheikh MohamudPDP16.1534.0666.05
Total no of candidates364
Voter Turnout (MPs)

Voting System

  • PE: President indirectly elected by both parliament chambers by two-third majority vote in 3 rounds if needed for a single 4-year term.
  • NA: Members indirectly elected by electoral colleges, each consisting of 51 delegates selected by the 136 Traditional Elders in consultation with sub-clan elders; members serve 4-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook