Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateWavel Ramkalawan
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet15
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA35
Parties in NA5
Female MPs in NA22.68%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held7
Next General Elections2025

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresident Minister of Defence + Legal Affairs + Public AdministrationWavel Ramkalawan
Head of Governmentn/an/a
Digital/IT/MediaVice-President, Minister of Information Communications Technology, Minister of InformationAhmed Afif
FinanceMinister of Finance, Economic Planning & TradeNaadir Hassan
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and TourismSylvestre Radegonde
HealthMinister for HealthPeggy Vidot
Agriculture/EnvironmentMinister for Agriculture, Climate Change and EnvironmentFlavien Joubert
Minister of FisheriesJean-François Ferrari
Natural Resourcesn/an/a
EducationMinister of EducationJustin Valentin
EconomyMinister for Investment, Entrepreneurship and IndustryDevika Vidot
InteriorMinister for Internal AffairsErrol Foneska
LaborMinister for Employment and Social AffairsPatricia Francourt
OthersMinister for TransportAntony Derjacques
Minister of Lands and HousingBilly Rangasamy
Minister for Youth, Sports and FamilyMarie-Céline Zialor
Minister for Local Government and Community AffairsRose Marie Hoareau

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Seychelles People's Progressive Front (Parti Lepep, SPPF) /United Seychelles1964756
Seychelles National Party (SNP)1998421

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Seychelles Democratic Alliance (Linyon Demokratik Seselwa, LDS)25
United Seychelles (US)10
Number of parties winning seats5
Number of parties contesting4
Female MPs22.68%
Voter turnout88.40%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Wavel RamkalawanSNP54.91
Danny FaureParti Lepep43.51
Alain St. AngaOne Seychelles1.58
Total no of candidates3
Voter Turnout88.45%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for 1 additional term)
  • NA: 26 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and up to 9 members elected by proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook