São Tomé and Príncipe

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateCarlos Manuel Vila Nova
Prime MinisterJorge Bom Jesus
Size of Cabinet13
National AssemblyAssembleia Nacional
Seats in NA55
Parties in NA4
Female MPs in NA14.55%
Term of National Assembly4 Years
Term of President5 Years
Number of NA Elections held8
Number of PE held6
Next NA Elections2022
Next Presidential Elections2026

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentCarlos Manuel Vila Nova
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterJorge Bom Jesus
FinanceMinister of Planning, Finance and Blue EconomyEngrácio da Graça
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and CommunitiesEdite Ramos da Costa Ten Jua
Defense/InteriorMinister of Defense and Internal SecurityJorge Amado
HealthMinister of HealthFilomena Monteiro
JusticeMinister of Justice, Public Administration and Human RightsCilcio Bandeira Pires dos Santos
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Rural DevelopmentFrancisco Martins dos Ramos
Natural ResourcesMinister of Infrastructure and Natural Resources Osvaldo D’Abreu
EducationMinister of Education and Higher EducationJulieta Izidro Rodrigues
EconomyMinister of Tourism, CultureAerton do Rosário Crisóstomo
LaborMinister of Labor, Solidarity, Family and Vocational TrainingAdlander Costa de Matos
OthersMinister of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers and Parliamentary AffairsWuando Borges Castro
Minister of Youth, Sport and EntrepreneurshipVinicius Xavier de Pina

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Independent Democratic Action (ADI)1992633
Liberation Movement of São Tomé and Príncipe / Social Democratic Party (MLSTP-PSD)1972630
Democratic Convergence Party- Democratic Movement of the Forces for Change - Union of Democrats (PCD-GR)1987510

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Independent Democratic Action (ADI)25
Social Democratic Party (MLSTP-PSD) 23
Democratic Convergence Party-Reflection Group (PCD-GR)/Democratic Movement of the Forces of Change-Liberal Party (MDFM) - Union of Democrats for Citizenship and Development (UDD)5
Movement of Independent Citizens of São Tomé and Príncipe (MCISTP)2
Number of parties winning seats4
Number of parties contesting7
Female MPs14.55%
Voter turnout80.65%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
2016Party1st round2nd round
Evaristo CarvalhoADI50.10.8219
Manuel Pinto da CostaIndp24.8
Maria das NevesMLSTP/PSD24.1
Manuel do RosárioIndp0.69
Total no of candidates5
Voter Turnout64.31%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by closed party-list proportional representation vote to serve 4-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook