Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StatePaul Kagame
Prime MinisterEdouard Ngirente
Size of Cabinet24
National AssemblyChamber of Deputies
Seats in NA80
Parties in NA9
Female MPs in NA61.25%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held4
Number of PE held3
Next NA Elections2023
Next Presidential Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentPaul Kagame
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterEdouard Ngirente
FinanceMinister of Finance and Economic PlanningDr Uzziel Ndagijimana
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and International CooperationDr Vincent Biruta
DefenseMinister of DefenceMaj. Gen. Albert Murasira
HealthMinister of HealthDr Daniel Ngamije
JusticeMinister of JusticeDr Ugirashebuja Emmanuel
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and Animal ResourcesDr Geraldine Mukeshimana
EnergyCEO, Rwanda Mines, Petroleum and Gas BoardAmb. Yamina Karitanyi
EducationMinister of EducationDr Valentine Uwamariya
EconomyMinister of Trade and IndustryBéata U. Habyarimana
CEO, Rwanda Development BoardClare Akamanzi
Digital/ITMinister of ICT and InnovationPaula Ingabire
InteriorMinister of InteriorAlfred Gasana
EnvironmentMinister of EnvironmentJeanne D'Arc Mujawamariya
LaborMinister of Public Service and LaborFanfan Kayirangwa Rwanyindo
OthersMinister of Local GovernmentJean Marie Vianney Gatabazi
Minister of Gender and Family PromotionDr Jeannette Bayisenge
Minister of InfrastructureErnest Nsabima
Minister In charge of Emergency ManagementMarie-Solange Kayisire
Minister of SportsAurore Mimosa Munyangaju
Minister of Youth and CultureRosemary Mbabazi
Minister in charge of Cabinet AffairsInes Mpambara
Minister in the Office of the PresidentJudith Uwizeye
Minister of National Unity and Civic EngagementDr Jean Damascene Bizimana

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Rwandan Patriotic Front (FPR)1987443
Social Democratic Party (PSD)400
Liberal Party (PL)400
Centrist Democratic Party (PDC)400

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Rwandan Patriotic Front (FPR)40
Social Democratic Party (PSD)5
Liberal Party (PL)4
Social Party Imberakuri (PS)2
Democratic Green Party of Rwanda (DGPR)2
Centrist Democratic Party (PDC)1
Ideal Democratic Party (PDI)1
Democratic Union of the Rwandan People (UDPR)1
Party for Progress and Concord (PPC)1
Number of parties winning seats9
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs61.25%
Voter turnout93.04%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Paul KagameFront PR98.79
Philippe MpayimanaIndp0.73
Frank HabinezaPVDR0.48
Total no of candidates3
Voter Turnout98.15%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 53 members directly elected by proportional representation vote, 24 women selected by special interest groups, and 3 selected by youth and disability organizations; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook