Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateMuhammadu Buhari
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet28
National AssemblyHouse of Representatives
Seats in NA360
Parties in NA10
Female MPs in NA3.33%
Term of National Assembly4 years
Term of President4 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held6
Next General Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresident + Minister of PetroleumMuhammadu Buhari
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance, Budget and National PlanningZainab Ahmed
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsGeoffrey Onyeama
DefenseMinister of DefenceBashir Salihi Magashi
HealthMinister of HealthOsagie Ehanire
JusticeMinister of Justice and Attorney General Abubakar Malami
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and Rural DevelopmentMohammed Mahmoud Abubakar
EnergyMinister of PowerSale Mamman
Natural ResourcesMinister of Mines and Steel DevelopmentOlamilekan Adegbite
Minister of Water ResourcesSuleiman H. Adamu
EducationMinister of EducationAdamu Adamu
Minister of Science TechnologyAdeleke Mamora
EconomyMinister of Industry, Trade and InvestmentOtuba Richard Adeniyi Adebayo
Digital/ITMinister of Communications and Digital EconomyIsa Ali Ibrahim Pantami
InteriorMinister of InteriorRauf Aregbesola
Minister of Police AffairsMuhammadu Dingyadi
MediaMinister of Information and CultureLai Mohammed
EnvironmentMinister of EnvironmentSharon Ikeazu
LaborMinister of Labour and EmploymentChris Ngige
OthersMinister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social DevelopmentSadiya Umar Farouq
Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT)Mohammed Musa Bello
Minister of Special Duties and Governmental Affairs George Akume
Minister for Niger DeltaUmana Umana
Minister of AviationHadi Sirika
Minister of TransportationMu’azu Jaji Sambo
Minister of Works and HousingBabatunde Raji Fashola
Minister of Youths and Sports DevelopmentSunday Dare
Minister of Women Affairs Pauline Tallen

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
People's Democratic Party (PDP)1998634
All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)2002400
All Progressives Congress (APC)2013332

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
All Progressives Congress (APC)212
People's Democratic Party (PDP)127
All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)10
Action Alliance (AA)2
African Democratic Congress (ADC)3
Accord Party2
Action Democratic Party (ADP)1
Allied Peoples' Movement (APM)1
Labour Party (LP)1
Social Democratic Party (SDP)1
Number of parties winning seats10
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs3.33%
Voter turnout35.66%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Muhammadu BuhariAPC55.54
Atiku AbubakarPDP41.18
Felix NicolasPCP0.4
Total no of candidates73
Voter Turnout35.66%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by qualified majority popular vote and at least 25% of the votes cast in 24 of Nigeria’s 36 states; president elected for a 4-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 4-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook