Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateHage Geingob
Prime MinisterSaara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila
Size of Cabinet23
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA104
Parties in NA11
Female MPs in NA46.88%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held6
Next General Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentHage Geingob
Vice-PresidentNangolo Mbumba
Chief of StaffMinister of Presidential AffairsChristina Hoebes
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterSaara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila
FinanceMinister of FinanceIpumbu W. Shiimi
ForeignDeputy Prime Minister & Minister of International Relations and CooperationNetumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah
DefenseMinister of Defence and Veterans AffairsFrans Kapofi
HealthMinister of Health and Social ServicesKalumbi Shangula
JusticeMinister of JusticeYvonne Dausab
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Water and Land ReformCalle Schlettwein
Minister of Fisheries and Marine ResourcesDerek Klazen
Energy/Natural ResourcesMinister of Ministry Mines and EnergyTom Alweendo
EducationMinister of Education, Arts and CultureAnna Nghipondoka
Minister of Higher Education, Training and InnovationItah Kandjii-Murangi
EconomyMinister of Industrialization and TradeLucia Iipumbu
Digital/ITMinister of Information and Communications TechnologyPeya Mushelenga
InteriorMinister of Home Affairs, Immigration, Safety and SecurityAlbert Kawana
EnvironmentMinister of Environment, Forestry and TourismPohamba Shifeta
LaborMinister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment CreationUtoni Nujoma
OthersMinister of Public EnterprisesLeon Jooste
Minister of Sport, Youth and National ServiceAgnes Tjongarero
Minister of Urban and Rural DevelopmentErastus Uutoni
Minister of Works and TransportJohn Mutorwa
Minister Of Gender Equality, Poverty Eradication & Social WelfareDoreen Sioka

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
South-West African People's Organization (SWAPO)1960776
Popular Democratic Movement (PDM)1977700

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
South-West African People's Organization (SWAPO)63
Popular Democratic Movement (PDM)16
Landless People's Movement (LPM)4
All People's Party (APP)2
Namibian Economic Freedom Fighters (NEFF)2
National Unity Democratic Organisation (NUDO)2
Republican Party of Namibia (RP)2
United Democratic Front (UDF)2
Christian Democratic Voice Party (CDV)1
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP)1
SWANU of Namibia (SWANU)1
Number of parties winning seats11
Number of parties contesting15
Female MPs46.88%
Voter turnout60.38%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Hage GeingobSWAPO56.3
Panduleni ItulaIndp29.4
McHenry VenaaniPDM5.3
Bernadus SwartbooiLPM2.7
Apius AuchabUDF2.7
Total no of candidates11
Voter Turnout60.80%

Voting System

  • PE: President elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 96 members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by closed list, proportional representation vote to serve 5-year terms and 8 nonvoting members appointed by the president)

Source: CIA World Factbook