Country Data

Government overview

Last updated

Sep, 2022

SystemParliamentary constitutional monarchy
Head of StateKing Mohamed VI
Prime MinisterAziz Akhannouch
Size of Cabinet20
National AssemblyMajlis al-Nuwab
Seats in NA395
Parties in NA12
Female MPs in NA22.78%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of Presidentn/a (hereditary monarchy)
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE heldn/a
Next NA Elections2026
Next Presidential Electionsn/a (hereditary monarchy)

List of cabinet

Head of StateKingMohammed VI
Head of GovernmentHead of GovernmentAziz Akhannouch
FinanceMinister of Economy and FinanceNadia Fettah Aiaoui
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs, African Cooperation and Moroccan ExpatriatesNasser Bourita
HealthMinister of Health and Social ProtectionKhalid Ait Taleb
JusticeMinister of Justice Abdellatif Ouahbi
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Fisheries, Rural Development and Water and ForestsMohamed Sadiki
EnergyMinister of Energy Transition and Sustainable DevelopmentLeila Benali
EducationMinister of National Education, Preschool and SportsChakib Benmoussa
Minister of Higher Education, Scientific Research and InnovationAbdellatif Miraoui
EconomyMinister of Economic Inclusion, Small Business, Employment and SkillsYounes Sekkouri
Minister of Industry and TradeRyad Mezzour
InteriorMinister of the InteriorAbdelouafi Laftit
OthersMinister of Endowments and Islamic AffairsAhmed Toufiq
Minister of Equipment and WaterNizar Baraka
Minister of National Planning, Urban Planning, Housing and Urban PolicyFatima Ezzahra El Mansouri
Minister of Tourism, Handicrafts and Social and Solidarity EconomyFatim-Zahra Ammor
Minister of Transport and LogisticsMohamed Abdeljalil
Minister of Youth, Culture and CommunicationMohamed Mehdi Bensaid
Minister of Solidarity, Social Inclusion and FamilyAouatif Hayar
Secretary General of the GovernmentMohamed El Hajjoui

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NA
National Rally of Independents (RNI)197871
Justice and Development Party (PJD)52
Party of Authenticity and Modernity (PAM)200830
Istiqlal Party (PI)194471
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP)197472
Popular Movement (MP)195770
Constitutional Union (UC)198370
Progress and Socialism Party (PPS)60

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
National Rally of Independents (RNI)102
Party of Authenticity and Modernity (PAM)87
Independence Party (PI Istiqlal) 81
Socialist Union of Popular Forces (USFP)34
Popular Movement (PM)28
Party of Progress and Socialism (PPS)20
Constitutional Union (CU)18
Justice and Development Party (PJD)13
Democratic and Social Movement (MDS)5
Front of Democratic Forces (FFD)3
Alliance of the Left Federation (AFG) 1
Unified Socialist Party (PSU) 1
Number of parties winning seats
Number of parties contesting
Female MPs
Voter turnout

Voting System

  • PE: hereditary monarchy
  • NA: 305 members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote and 90 directly elected in a single nationwide constituency by proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms; 90 seats are reserved for a combination of women and those under age 40 in regional multi-member constituencies, with the seats divided proportionally among the 12 regions by population size of the region)

Source: CIA World Factbook