Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateColonel Assimi Goita
Prime MinisterChoguel Kokalla Maiga
Size of Cabinet26
National AssemblyTransitional National Council
Seats in NA121
Parties in NAn/a
Female MPs in NAn/a
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held6
Next General Electionspostponed

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresident of the Transition (official title)Colonel Assimi Goita
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterChoguel Kokalla Maiga
FinanceMinister of Economy and FinanceAlousséni Sanou
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and International CooperationAbdoulaye Diop
Minister of Malians Abroad and African IntegrationAl Hamdou Ag Ilene
DefenseMinister of Defense and Veterans AffairsSadio Camara
HealthMinister of Health and Social DevelopmentDiéminatou Sangare
JusticeMinister of Justice and Human Rights, Keeper of the SealsMahamadou Kassogue
Minister of Territorial Administration and DecentralizationAbdoulaye Maiga
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Livestock and FisheriesModibo Keita
EnergyMinister of Mines, Energy and WaterLamine Seydou Traore
EducationMinister of National EducationSidibé Dedeou Ousmane
Minister of Higher Education and Scientific ResearchAmadou Keita
EconomyMinister of Industry and CommerceMahmoud Ould Mohamed
Digital/IT/MediaMinister of Communication, Digital Economy and Modernization of AdministrationHarouna Mamadou Toureh
InteriorMinister of Security and Civil ProtectionDaoud Aly Mohammedine
EnvironmentMinister of the Environment, Sanitation and Sustainable DevelopmentModibo Kone
LaborMinister of Labor and Civil Service and Social DialogueDiawara Aoua Paul Diallo
Minister of National Entrepreneurship, Employment and Vocational TrainingBakarou Doumbia
OthersMinister of Reconciliation, Peace and National Cohesion, in charge of the Peace Accord National ReconciliationIsmael Wague
Minister of State Refoundation, in charge of Relations with InstitutionsIbrahim Ikassa Maiga
Minister of Transport and InfrastructuresDembéle Madina Sissoko
Minister of Urban Planning and Housing, Lands, Spatial Planning and PopulationBréhima Kamena
Minister of Crafts, Culture, Hotel Industry and TourismAndogoly Guindo
Minister for the Promotion of Women, Children and the FamilyWadidié Founè Coulibaly
Minister of Youth and Sports in charge of civic education and citizen buildingMossa Ag Attaher
Minister of Religious Affairs, Worship and CustomsMahamadou Kone

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Rally for Mali (RPM)2001432
Alliance for Democracy in Mali (ADEMA) - PASJ1991632
Union for the Republic and Democracy (URD)2003300
Party for National Renaissance (PARENA)1995400

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Rally for Mali (RPM)
Alliance for Democracy in Mali (ADEMA) - PASJ51
Union for the Republic and Democracy (URD)24
Movement for Mali (MPM)19
Democratic Alliance for Peace (ADP) - Maliba10
Convergence for the Development of Mali (CODEM)6
Alliance for Solidarity in Mali–Convergence of Patriotic Forces (ASMA)5
Mali on the move « Alliance Ama-kéné »4
Union for Democracy and Development (UDD)4
African solidarity for democracy and independence (SADI)3
Hope Ansongo3
Party for National Renaissance (PARENA)2
Social Democratic Convention(CDS-Mogotiguiya)2
Patriotic Movement for Renewal (MPR)2
Alliances of Patriots for Renewal (APR)1
Malian Union of African Democratic Rally (UM RDA)1
Socialist Party (PS) - Yelen Kura1
Party for the Restoration of the Values ​​of Mali (PRVM) - FASO-KO1
Union of Democratic Forces for Progress (UFDP) - Samaton1
Mali Kanu Party (PMK)1
Party for Economic and Social Development (PDES)1
Number of parties winning seats
Number of parties contesting20
Female MPs542
Voter turnout27.89%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
2018Party1st round2nd round
Ibrahim Boubacar KeïtaRPM41.767.17
Soumaïla CisséURD17.7832.83
Aliou DialloADP8.03
Modibo DiarraRPDM7.39
Housseini GuindoPUR3.9
Oumar MarikoSADI2.33
Modibo Kone MMK2.29
Choguel MaïgaMPR2.16
Total no of candidates24
Voter Turnout42.70%

Voting System

  • PE: Previously, president directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Previously, members of the 147-seat Assemblée Nationale were directly elected in single and multi-seat constituencies by absolute majority vote in 2 rounds if needed; 13 seats reserved for citizens living abroad; members serve 5-year terms)

Source: CIA World Factbook