Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateLazarus Chakwera
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet23
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA192
Parties in NA6 (+55 indp)
Female MPs in NA22.80%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held7
Next NA Elections2024
Next Presidential Elections2025

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresident, in charge of Defence and PoliceLazarus Chakwera
Vice President and Minister of Public Sector ReformsSaulos Klaus Chilima
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance and Economic AffairsSosten Alfred Gwengwe
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsNancy Tembo
HealthMinister of HealthKhumbize Kandodo Chiponda
JusticeMinister of JusticeTitus Edward Songiso Mvalo
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureRobin Clarke Lowe
EnergyMinister of EnergyIbrahim Matola
Natural ResourcesMinister of MiningAlbert Mbawala
Minister of Natural Resources and Climate ChangeNduwa Mkaka
EducationMinister of EducationAgnes Makonda NyaLonje
EconomyMinister of Trade and IndustryMark Katsonga Phiri
Digital/ITMinister of Information and DigitalizationGospel Kazako
InteriorMinister of Homeland SecurityJean Muonaowauza Sendeza
LaborMinister of LabourVera Kamtukule
OthersMinister of Transport and Public WorksJacob Hara
Minister of Gender, Community Development and Social WelfarePatricia Annie Kaliati
Minister of Local GovernmentBlessings Chinsinga
Minister of LandsSamuel Dalitso Kawale
Minister of National UnityTimothy Pagonachi Mtambo
Minister of Tourism, Culture & WildlifeMichael Bizwick Usi
Minister of Youth and SportsRichard Chimwendo Banda
Minister of Water and SanitationAbida Sidik Mia

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)2005533
Malawi Congress Party (MCP)1959611
United Democratic Front (UDF)1992623

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Democratic Progressive Party (DPP)62
Malawi Congress Party (MCP)55
United Democratic Front (UDF)10
People's Party (PP)5
United Transformation Movement (UTM)4
Alliance for Democracy (AFORD)1
Number of parties winning seats6
Number of parties contesting13
Female MPs22.80%
Voter turnout73%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Lazarus ChakweraMCP59.34
Peter MutharikaDPP39.92
Peter KuwaniMMD0.74
Total no of candidates3
Voter Turnout64.81%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook