Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateAndry Rajoelina
Prime MinisterChristian Ntsay
Size of Cabinet28
National AssemblyAntenimierampirenena
Seats in NA151
Parties in NA7 + 46 Indp
Female MPs in NA15.89%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held7
Next NA Elections2024
Next Presidential Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentAndry Rajoelina
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterChristian Ntsay
FinanceMinister of Economy and FinanceRindra Hasimbelo Rabarinirinarison
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsRichard Randriamandrato
DefenseMinister of National DefenseLéon Jean Richard Rakotorina
HealthHealth MinisterZely Arivelo Randriamanantany
JusticeKeeper of the Seals, Minister of JusticeFrançois Rakotozafy
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Livestock and FisheriesHarifidy Ramilison
EnergyMinister of Energy and HydrocarbonsAndry Ramaroson
Natural ResourcesMinister of Mines and Strategic ResourcesHerindrainy Olivier Rakotomalala
Minister of Water, Sanitation and HygieneFidiniavo Ravokatra
EducationMinister of National Education and Technical and Vocational EducationMarie Michelle Sahondrarimalala
Minister of Technical and Vocational EducationRahantanirina Gabriella Avitsara
Minister of Higher Education and Scientific ResearchElia Béatrice Assoumacou
EconomyMinister of Industry, Trade and HandicraftsEdgard Razafindravahy
Digital/ITMinister of Digital Development, Digital Transformation, Posts and TelecommunicationsTahina Razafindramalo
InteriorMinister of the Interior and DecentralizationJustin Tokely
Minister of Public SecurityFanomezantsoa Rodellys Randrianariso
MediaMinister of Communication and CultureLalatiana Andriatongarivo Rakotondrazafy
EnvironmentMinister of Environment and Sustainable DevelopmentMarie Orléa Vina
LaborMinister of Labor, Employment, Public Service and Social LawsGisèle Ranampy
OthersMinister of Public WorksJerry Hatrefindrazana
Minister of Transport and MeteorologyRoland Ranjatoelina
Minister of Youth and SportsTinoka Roberto Michael Rahatoarilala
Minister of Population, Social Protection and Promotion of WomenPrincia Soafilira
Minister of Land Management and PropertyPierre Holder Ramaholimasy
Minister of Crafts and TradesSophie Ratsiraka
Minister of Fisheries and the Blue EconomyPaubert Mahatante
Minister of TourismJoël Randriamandranto

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
We Are All With Andry Rajoelina (IRD)110
I love Madagascar(TIM)322
Avant-garde of the Malagasy revolution (AREMA)1976322

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Isika Rehetra Miaraka amin'i Andry Rajoelina (IRD)84
Tiako I Madagasikara (TIM)16
RPSD Vaovao1
Number of parties winning seats7
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs15.89%
Voter turnout40.64%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
2018Party1st round2nd round
Andry RajoelinaTGV39.2355.66
Marc RavalomananaTIM35.2944.34
Hery RajaonarimampianinaHVM8.84
Andre Christian Dieu Donne MailholGFFM1.27
Total no of candidates36
Voter Turnout54.30%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 87 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 64 directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by closed-list proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook