Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

Head of StateGeorge Manneh Weah
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet20
National AssemblyHouse of Representatives
Seats in NA73
Parties in NA12 + 13 Indp
Female MPs in NA12.33%
Term of National Assembly6 years
Term of President6 years
Number of NA Elections held4
Number of PE held4
Next General Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentGeorge Manneh Weah
Chief of StaffMinister of State for Presidential Affairs Nathaniel F. McGill
Vice-PresidentJewel Howard-Taylor
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance and Development PlanningSamuel D. Tweh Jr.
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsDee-Maxwell Saah Kemayah
DefenseMinister of National Defense Daniel Dee Ziankahn
HealthMinister of Health and Social WelfareWilhelmina Jallah
JusticeMinister of Justice and Attorney-GeneralMusa F. Dean
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureJeanine M. Cooper
EnergyMinister of Mines and Energy Gesler E. Murray
EducationMinister of EducationAnsu Sonii
EconomyMinister of Commerce and IndustryMawine G. Diggs
Digital/ITMinister of Posts and Telecommunications Cooper Kruah
InteriorMinister of Internal AffairsVarney A. Sirleaf
MediaMinister of Information, Culture, and TourismLedgerhood Julius Rennie
LaborMinister of LaborCharles H.Gibson
OthersMinister of Public Works Ruth Coker-Collins
Minister of Youth and Sport D. Zeogar Wilson
Minister of Transport Samuel Wlue
Minister of Gender, Children and Social ProtectionWilliametta Piso Saydee-Tarr

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Congress for Democratic Change (CDC)2005321
Unity Party (UP)412
Liberty Party (LP)2005300
National Patriotic Party (NPP)1997421

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Coalition for Democratic Change (CDC, NPP, LPDP)21
Unity Party (UP)20
People's Unification Party (PUP)5
Liberty Party (LP)3
All Liberian Party (ALP)3
Movement for Democracy and Reconstruction (MDR)2
Victory for Change Party (VCP)1
Movement for Economic Empowerment (MOVEE)1
Liberia Transformation Party (LTP)1
United People's Party (UPP)1
Liberia National Union (LINU)1
Liberian People's Party (LPP)1
Number of parties winning seats12
Number of parties contesting23
Female MPs12.33%
Voter turnout75.19%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
2017Party1st round2nd round
George WeahCDC38.461.5
Joseph BoakaiUP28.838.5
Charles BrumskineLP9.6
Prince JohnsonMDR8.2
Alexander B. CummingsANC7.2
Benoni UreyALP1.6
Total no of candidates20
Voter Turnout75.20%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 6-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: House of Representatives (73 seats; members directly elected in single-seat districts by simple majority vote to serve 6-year terms; eligible for a second term)

Source: CIA World Factbook