Country Data


Last updated

Oct, 2022

President/Head of StateLetsie III
Prime MinisterMoeketsi Majoro
Size of Cabinet26
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA120
Parties in NA14
Female MPs in NAn/a
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of Presidentn/a
Number of NA Elections held8
Number of PE heldn/a
Next NA Elections2027

List of cabinet (outgoing cabinet of PM Majori until Oct 2022)

Head of StateKingLetsie III
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterMoeketsi Majoro
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Parliamentary AffairsMathibeli Mokhothu
FinanceMinister of FinanceThabo Sophonea
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs and International Relations‘Matṥepo Ramakoae
DefenseMinister of Defence and National SecurityHalebonoe Setsabi
HealthMinister of HealthSemano Sekatle
JusticeMinister of Law and Justice Lekhetho Rakuoane
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Food and SecurityKeketso Sello
Minister of Forestry, Range and Soil ConservationMotlohi Maliehe
EnergyMinister of Energy and MeteorologyMohapi Mohapinyane
Natural ResourcesMinister of MiningSerialong Qoo
Minister of WaterKemiso Mosenene
EducationMinister of Education and TrainingMamookho Phiri
EconomyMinister of Trade and IndustryThabiso Molapo
Digital/ITMinister of Communications, Science and TechnologyTšoinyane Rapapa
InteriorMinister of Home AffairsMotlalentoa Letsosa
EnvironmentMinister of Tourism, Environment and CultureNtlhoi Motsamai
LaborMinister of Labour and EmploymentSelemo Mangobe
OthersMinister of TransportTṥoeu Mokeretla
Minister of Public ServiceLehlohonolo Moramotse
Minister of Gender, Youth, Sports and RecreationLikeleli Tampane
Minister of Local Government and ChieftainshipMoshe Leoma
Minister of Development PlanningSelibe Mochoboroane
Minister of Public WorksLebohang Monaheng
Minister of Social DevelopmentMatebatso Doti
Minister of Police, Public SafetyLepota Sekola

Main political parties

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NA
Revolution For Prosperity (RFP)202211
All Basotho Convention (ABC)200631
Democratic Congress (DC)201232
Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD)199763
Basotho National Party (BNP)195960

Last NA election results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Revolution For Prosperity (RFP)56
Democratic Congress (DC)29
All Basotho Convetion (ABC)8
Basotho Action Party (BAP)6
Alliance of Democrats (AD)5
Movement for Economic Change (MEC)4
Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD)3
Socialist Revolutionaries (SR)2
Basotho National Party (BNP)1
Popular Front for Democracy (PFD)1
Mpulule Political Summit (MPS)1
Basotho Convenant Movement (BCM)1
Mphatlalatsane (HOPE)1
National Independent Party (NIP)1
Number of parties winning seats14
Number of parties contesting48
Female MPsn/a
Voter turnoutn/a

Voting System

  • PE: The monarchy is hereditary, but under the terms of the constitution that came into effect after the March 1993 election, the monarch is a „living symbol of national unity“ with no executive or legislative powers; under traditional law, the college of chiefs has the power to deposit the monarch, to determine next in line of succession, or to serve as regent in the event that a successor is not of mature age; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition in the Assembly automatically becomes Prime Minister.
  • NA: 80 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 40 elected through proportional representation; Members serve 5-year terms.

Source: CIA World Factbook