Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateColonel Mamady Doumbouya
Prime MinisterBernard Goumou
Size of Cabinetunclear
National AssemblyTransitional Council
Seats in NA81
Parties in NAnone
Female MPs in NAunclear
Term of National Assembly5 years (formerly)
Term of President5 years (formerly)
Constitution2010 (Constitution suspended)
Number of NA Elections held4
Number of PE held6
Next NA Electionspostponed
Next PE Electionspostponed

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentColonel Mamady Doumbouya
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterBernard Goumou

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Gathering of the People of Guinea (RPG)1988323
Union of Democratic Forces of Guinea (UFDG)1991101
Union for the Progress of Guinea (UPG)1993200
Union for Progress and Renewal (UPR)1998300

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Gathering of the People of Guinea (RPG) Rainbow79
Democratic Union of Guinea (UDG)4
Democratic People's Movement of Guinea (MPDG)3
New Democratic Forces (NFD)3
Democratic alternation for change -Constructive Opposition Bloc (ADC-BOC)2
Union for Progress and Renewal (UPR)2
Guinea for democracy and balance (GDE)2
Union of the forces of change (UFC)2
Rally for the Integrated Development of Guinea (RDIG)2
Number of parties winning seats24
Number of parties contesting33
Female MPs14.91%
Voter turnout58.04%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Alpha CondéRPG59.5
Cellou Dalein DialloUFDG33.5
Ibrahima Abé SyllaNGR1.55
Ousmane KabaPADES1.19
Total no of candidates12
Voter Turnout78.88%

Voting System

  • PE: Formerly, the president was directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term) and the prime minister appointed by the president.
  • NA: Constitution has been suspended; 81 members to the Transitional National Council were appointed by the transitional president

Source: CIA World Factbook