Guinea Bissau

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateUmaro Sissoco Embaló
Prime MinisterNuno Gomes Nabiam
Size of Cabinet24
National AssemblyAssembleia Nacional Popular
Seats in NA102
Parties in NAParliament dissolved in 2022
Female MPs in NAn/a
Term of National Assembly4 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held7
Next NA Elections2023
Next Presidential Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentUmaro Sissoco Embaló
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterNuno Gomes Nabiam
Minister of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers and Parliamentary AffairsSuares Sambu
FinanceMinister of FinanceJoâo Aladje Mamadu Fadia
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and CommunitiesSuzi Carla Barbosa
DefenseMinister of Defense and Homeland Freedom FightersMarciano Silva Barbeiro
HealthMinister of Public HealthDionísio Cumba
JusticeMinister of Justice and Human RightsTeresa Alexandrina da Silva
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and Rural DevelopmentSandji Fati
Minister of FisheriesOrlando Mendes Viegas
EnergyMinister of Energy and IndustryMário Siano Fambé
Natural ResourcesMinister of State fore Natural ResourcesFernando Dias
EducationMinister of National Education Tcherno Djaló
Minister of Higher Education and ResearchTimóteo Saba M'bunde
EconomyMinister of Trade and IndustryAbas Djaló
Minister of Economy, Planning and Regional IntegrationJosé Carlos Varela Casimiro
InteriorMinister of the Interior and Public OrderBotché Candé
MediaMinister of Transport and CommunicationsAristides Ocante da Silva
EnvironmentMinister of Environment and BiodiversityViriato Soares Cassamá
LaborMinister of Public Administration, Labor, Employment and Social SecurityCirilo Mamasaliu Djaló
OthersMinister of Territorial Administration and Local PowerFernando Dias
Minister of Women, Family and Social SolidarityMaria da Conceição Evora
Minister of Public Works, Housing and Town PlanningFidelis Forbs
Minister of Youth, Culture and SportsAugusto Gomes
Minister of Tourism and CraftsFernando Vaz

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC)1956655
Social Renewal Party (PRS)1992611
Movement for Democratic Alternation (Madem G-15)2018101

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde (PAIGC)47
Movement for Democratic Alternation (Madem G-15)27
Social Renewal Party (PRS)21
Assembly of the United People - Democratic Party of Guinea-Bissau (APU-PDGB)5
Union for Change (UM) 1
New Democracy Party (PND)1
Number of parties winning seats
Number of parties contesting
Female MPs
Voter turnout

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
2019Party1st round2nd round
Domingos Simões PereiraPAIGC40.1346.45
Umaro Sissoco EmbalóMadem G1527.6553.55
Nuno Gomes NabiamAPU-PDGB13.16
José Mário VazIndp12.41
Carlos Gomes JúniorIndp2.66
Total no of candidates12
Voter Turnout74.37%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in two rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term.
  • NA: 100 members directly elected in 27 multi-seat constituencies by closed party-list proportional representation vote and 2 elected in single-seat constituencies for citizens living abroad (Africa 1, Europe 1 ); all members serve 4-year terms)

Source: CIA World Factbook