Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateNana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet31
National AssemblyParliament
Seats in NA275
Parties in NA2 + 1 Indp
Female MPs in NA14.55%
Term of National Assembly4 years
Term of President4 years
Number of NA Elections held8
Number of PE held8
Next General Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentNana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
Vice-PresidentMahamudu Bawumia
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of FinanceKen Ofori-Atta
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsShirley Ayorkor Botchwey
DefenseDefense MinisterDominic Nitiwul
HealthMinister of HealthKwaku Agyeman Manu
JusticeAttorney GeneralGodfred Yeboah Dame
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureOwusu Afriyie Akoto
Minister of Fisheries and AquacultureMavis Hawa Koomson
EnergyMinister of EnergyMatthew Opoku Prempeh
Natural ResourcesMinister of Land and Natural ResourcesSamuel A. Jinapor
EducationMinister of EducationYaw Osei Adutwum
EconomyMinister of Trade and IndustryAlan Kyerematen
InteriorMinister of the InteriorAmbrose Dery
Minister of National SecurityAlbert Kan Daapah
MediaMinister of CommunicationUrsula Owusu-Ekuful
EnvironmentMinister of Environment, Science and TechnologyKwaku Afriyie
LaborMinister of Employment and Labour RelationsIgnatius Baffour Awuah
OthersMinister of Monitoring and EvaluationAnthony Akoto Osei
Minister of Local Government Decentralization and Rural DevelopmentDan Botwe
Minister of Gender, Children and Social ProtectionSarah Adwoa Safo
Minister of TransportKwaku Ofori Asiamah
Minister of Railways DevelopmentJohn-Peter Amewu
Minister of Roads and HighwaysKwasi Amoako-Attah
Minister of Water and SanitationCecilia Abena Dapaah
Minister of Works and HousingFrancis Asenso-Boakye
Minister of Tourism, Arts and CultureIbrahim Mohammed Awal
Minister of InformationKojo Oppong Nkrumah
Minister of Youth and SportsMustafa Ussif
Minister of Chiefdoms and Religious AffairsEbenezer Kojo Kum
Minister of Parliamentary AffairsOsei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
New Patriotic Party (NPP)1992744
National Democratic Congress (NDC)1992843
People's National Convention (PNC)1992400
Convention People's Party (CPP)1999500

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
New Patriotic Party (NPP)137
National Democratic Congress (NDC)137
Number of parties winning seats2
Number of parties contesting14
Female MPs14.55%
Voter turnout78.89%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Nana Akufo-AddoNPP51.3
John Dramani MahamaNDC47.36
Total no of candidates12
Voter Turnout78.89%

Voting System

  • PE: President and vice president directly elected on the same ballot by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 4-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 4-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook