Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateAdama Barrow
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet22
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA58
Parties in NA5 + 21 Indp
Female MPs in NA7.72%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held6
Next NA Elections2027
Next Presidential Elections2026

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentAdama Barrow
Vice-PresidentAlieu Badara Joof
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance and Economic Affairs + Trade, IndustrySeedy Keita
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsMamadou Tangara
DefenseMinister of Defence Sering Modou Njie
HealthMinister of HealthDr. Ahmadou Lamin Samateh
JusticeMinister of Justice, Attorney GeneralDawda A. Jallow
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture Demba Sabally
Minister of Fisheries and Water ResourcesMusa S. Drammeh
EnergyMinister of Petroleum and EnergyAbdoulie Jobe
Minister of Environment , Climate Change and Natural Resources Rohey John Manjang
EducationMinister of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology Pierre Gomez
Minister of Basic and Secondary Education Claudiana A. Cole
Digital/ITMinister of Communication and Digital Economy + Public WorksEbrima Silah
InteriorMinister of the InteriorSiaka Sonko
MediaMinister of InformationLamin Queen Jammeh
EnvironmentMinister of Environment , Climate Change and Natural Resources Rohey John Manjang
OthersMinister of Lands and Regional Government and Religious AffairsAbba Sanyang
Minister of Gender, Children and Social WelfareFatou Kinteh
Minister of Youth and Sports Bakary Y. Badjie
Minister of Tourism and CultureHamat N.K. Bah
Minister for Public Service, Administration Reform Coordination and DeliveryBaboucarr Ousmaila Joof

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
National People's Party (NPP)2021110
United Democratic Party (UDP)1996410
Alliance for Patriotic Re-Orientation and Construction (APRC)1996644
National Reconciliation Party (NRP)1996400

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
National People's Party (NPP)18
United Democratic Party (UDP)15
National Reconciliation Party (NRP)4
People's Democratic Organisation for Independence and Socialism (APRC)2
Alliance for Patriotic Reorientation and Construction (PDOIS)2
Number of parties winning seats5
Number of parties contesting>12
Female MPs7.72%
Voter turnout51.21%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Adama BarrowCoalition 201643
Yahya JammehAPRC40
Mama KandehGDC17
Total no of candidates3
Voter Turnout59.32%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 5-year term (no term limits)
  • NA: 53 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 5 appointed by the president

Source: CIA World Factbook