Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateAli Ben Bongo Ondimba
Prime MinisterRose Christiane Ossouka Raponda
Size of Cabinet31
National AssemblyAssemblée Nationale
Seats in NA142
Parties in NA13 + 6 Indp
Female MPs in NA17.90%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President7 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held5
Next NA Elections2023
Next Presidential Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentAli Ben Bongo Ondimba
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterRose Christiane Ossouka Raponda
FinanceMinister of Economy and RecoveryNicole Jeanine Lydie Roboty Mbou
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsMichael Moussa Adamo
DefenseMinister of National DefenceFélicité Ongouori Ngoubili
HealthMinister of HealthGuy Patrick Obiang Ndong
JusticeMinister of Justice, Keeper of the Seals and Human Rights Officer, in charge of human rights and gender equalityErlyne Antonella Ndembet
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and FoodCharles Mve Ella
EnergyMinister of State for Energy and Hydraulic ResourcesAlain-Claude Bilie-By-Nze
Natural ResourcesMinister of Oil, Gas and MinesVincent de Paul Massassa
Minister of MiningElvis Ossindji
EducationMinister of National Education, in charge of Civic EducationCamelia Ntoutoume-Leclercq
Minister of Higher Education, Scientific Research, Technology Transfer, Culture, and the ArtsPatrick Dauda Mouguima
Minister of Vocational TrainingRaphaël Ngazouze
EconomyMinister of State for IndustryPâcome Moubelet-Boubeye
Minister of Trade, Small and Medium Enterprises and IndustryYves Fernand Mamfoumbi
Digital/ITMinister of Digital EconomyJean-Pierre Doukaga Kassa
MediaMinister of Communication and Digital EconomyPascal Houangni Ambourouet
InteriorMinister of State for the InteriorLambert Noël Matha
Minister of Housing and UrbanismOlivier Nang Ekomie Komie
EnvironmentMinister of Water, Forests, the Sea and Environment, Responsible for Climate Plan and Land Use PlanLee White
Minister of Fisheries and Maritime EconomySéverin Mayounou
LaborMinister of Employment, Public service, Labor and Vocational Training, Government SpokespersonMadeleine Edmée Berre
OthersMinister of State for the Relations with Constitutional Institutions and Independent Administrative AuthoritiesDenise Mekam'ne Edzidzie
Minister for the Promotion of Good Governance and the Fight Against CorruptionFrancis Nkea Ndzigue
Minister of Decentralization, Cohesion and Territorial DevelopmentMichel Menga M'Essone
Minister of TourismJean-Norbert Diramba
Minister of Budget and Public AccountsEdith Ekiri Mounombi
Minister of TransportBrice Paillat
Minister of Sports, in charge of Associative LifeFranck Nguema
Minister of Public Works, Equipment and InfrastructureLéon Armel Bounda Balonzi
Minister of Investment Promotion, Public-Private Partnerships, in charge of Improving the Business EnvironmentHugues Mbadinga Madiya

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG)1968665
Rally for Gabon (RPG)200
Gabonese Party of Progress (PGP)400

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG)95
The Democrats (LD)9
Restoration of Republican Values (RV)6
Social Democrats of Gabon (SDG)5
Heritage and Modernity Rally (RH&M)4
Social Democrat Party (PSD)2
National Union (UN)1
Circle of Liberal Reformers (CLR)1
New Democracy (DN)1
Republican Equality Front (FER)1
Restoration of Republican Values (RV) - Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG)1
Union for Democracy and Social Integration (UDIS) - Gabonese Democratic Party (PDG)1
Union for the New Republic (UPNR)1
Number of parties winning seats13
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs17.90%
Voter turnout58.63%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Ali Bongo OndimbaPDG49.8
Jean PingFUOPA48.23
Bruno Ben MoubambaUPG0.53
Total no of candidates14
Voter Turnout59.46%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 7-year term (no term limits)
  • NA: Members elected in single-seat constituencies by absolute majority vote in 2 rounds if needed; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook