Country Data


Last updated

Oct, 2022

President/Head of StateSahle-Work Zewde
Prime MinisterAbiy Ahmed Ali
Size of Cabinet23
Female cabinet members9
National AssemblyYehizb Tewokayoch Mekir Bete
Seats in NA547
Parties in NA5 + 4 Indp
Female MPs in NA35.65%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President6 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held5
Next General Elections2026
Next Presidential Elections2024 (indirect vote)

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentSahle-Work Zewde
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterAbiy Ahmed Ali
FinanceMinister of FinanceAhmed Shide
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsDemeke Mekonnen
DefenseMinister of DefenseAbraham Belay Berhe
HealthMinister of HealthLiya Tadesse
JusticeMinister of JusticeGedion Timotheos
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureOmer Husen
EnergyMinister of Water and EnergyHabtamu Itefa Geleta
Natural ResourcesMinister of MinesTakele Uma Banti
EducationMinister of EducationBirhanu Nega
EconomyMinistry of IndustryMelaku Alebel
Minister of Trade and Regional IntegrationGebremeskel Challa
Digital/ITMinister of Innovation and TechnologyBelete Molla
LaborMinister of Labor and Skills DevelopmentMuferiat Kamil
OthersMinister of PeaceBinalf Andualem
Minister of Irrigation and Lowland Areas DevelopmentAyisha Mohammed
Minister of Transport and LogisticsDagmawit Moges
Minister of Urban and InfrastructureChaltu Sani
Minister of Women and Social AffairsErgogie Tesfaye
Minister of Culture and SportsKejella Merdassa
Minister of TourismNassise Chali
Minister of RevenueAynalem Nigusie
Minister of National Planning and DevelopmentFitsum Assefa

Main political parties

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NA
Prosperity Party201911
Ethiopian People’s Revolutionary Democratic Front [EPRDF]198855
Somali Peoples Democratic Party (SPDP)30
Afar National Democratic Party (ANDP)40

Last NA election results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Prosperity Party454
National Movement of Amhara (NAMA)5
Ethiopian Citizens for Social Justice (EZEMA)4
Gedeo People's Democratic Organization2
Kucha People Party1
Number of parties winning seats5
Number of parties contesting55
Female MPs35.65%
Voter turnoutn/a

Voting System

  • PE: President indirectly elected by both chambers of Parliament for a 6-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote; 22 seats reserved for minorities; all members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook