Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateIsaias Afwerki
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinetn/a
National AssemblyHagerawi Baito
Seats in NA150
Parties in NAn/a
Female MPs in NAn/a
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections heldn/a
Number of PE held1
Next NA Electionsindefinitely postponed
Next Presidential Electionsindefinitely postponed

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
People's Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ)1994n/an/an/a

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Formation of Transtitional National Assembly1997

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections 
People's Front for Democracy and Justice (PFDJ) 95%
Other 5%

Voting System

  • PE: President indirectly elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 75 members indirectly elected by the ruling party and 75 directly elected by simple majority vote; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook