Equatorial Guinea

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateTeodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo
Prime MinisterFrancisco Pascual Obama Asue
Size of Cabinet28
National AssemblyCamara de los Diputados
Seats in NA100
Parties in NA2
Female MPs in NA20%
Term of National Assembly5 Years
Term of President7 Years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held4
Next NA Elections2022
Next PE Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentTeodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterFrancisco Pascual Obama Asue
EducationFirst Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Education, University Education and SportsClemente Engonga Nguema Onguene
Second Vice Prime Minister, in charge of Relations to the ParliamentÁngel Mesie Mibuy
Third Vice Prime Minister, in charge of human rightsAlfonso Nsue Mokuy
FinanceMinister for Finance, Economy and PlanningValentin Ela Maye
ForeignMinister for Foreign Affairs and CooperationSimeon Oyono Esono Angue
DefenseMinister for National DefenceVictoriano Bibang Nsue Okomo
HealthMinster for Health and Social WelfareDiosdado Nsue Milang
JusticeMinister for Justice, Worship and Penitentiary InstitutionsSalvador Ondo Ncumu
AgricultureMinister for Agriculture, Livestock, Forests and the EnvironmentFrancisca Eneme Efua
Minster for Fisheries and Water ResourcesAdoración Salas Chonco
EnergyMinister for Industry and EnergyMiguel Ekua Ondo
Natural ResourcesMinister for Mines and HydrocarbonsGabriel Mbega Obiang Lima
EconomyMinister for Trade and Promotion of Small and Medium-sized BusinessesPastor Micha Ondo Bile
Digital/ITMinister for Transport,Post and TelecommunicationsRufino Ovono Ondo
InteriorMinister of State for the Interior and Local BusinessesFaustino Ndong Esono Eyang
MediaMinister for Information, Press and RadioVirgilio Seriche Riloha
LaborMinister for Labor, Employment Promotion and Social SecurityAlfredo Mitogo Mitogo Ada
OthersMinister of Civil AviationNorberto-Bartolome Mensuy Mañe Andeme
Minister for Public Works, Housing and Urban PlanningClemente Ferreiro Villarino
Minister for Social Affairs and Gender EqualityMaría Consuelo Nguema Oyana
Minister for Public Service and Administrative ReformEucario Bakale Angue
Minister for Culture, Tourism and Artisanal PromotionRufino Ndong Esono Nchama
Minister of State at the Presidency of the Republic in charge of Diplomatic MissionsAlejandro Evuna Owono Asangono
Minister of State at the Presidency of the Government, in charge of regional integrationBaltasar Engonga Edjo
Minister of State for National SecurityNicolás Obama Nchama
Minister at the Presidency of the Republic, Head of Foreign SecurityJuan Antonio Bibang Nchuchuma
Minister Secretary General of the Government PresidencyBaltasar Esono Eworo Nfono

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea / Parti Démocratique de Guinée Equatoriale (PDGE)1987664
Convergence for Social Dmocracy (CPDS)1984500

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Democratic Party of Equatorial Guinea (PDGE)99
Citizens for Innovation (CI)1
Number of parties winning seats2
Number of parties contesting3
Female MPs20%
Voter turnout84.01%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Teodoro Obiang NguemaPDGE93.53
Avelino Mocache MehengaUCD1.57
Buenaventura Moswi AsumuPCSD1.52
Total no of candidates7
Voter Turnout93%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 7-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by closed paryt-list proportional representation vote to serve 5-year terms.

Source: CIA World Factbook