DR Congo

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateFélix Antoine Tshisekedi
Prime MinisterJean Michel Sama Lukonde Kyenge
Size of Cabinet45
National AssemblyAssemblée Nationale
Seats in NA500
Parties in NA34
Female MPs in NA10%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held3
Number of PE held3
Next General Elections2023

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentFélix Antoine Tshisekedi
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterJean Michel Sama Lukonde Kyenge
FinanceMinister of FinanceNicolas Kadima Kazadi
ForeignMinister of Foreign AffairsChristophe Lutundula Apala Pen'apala
DefenseMinister of Defense and Veterans AffairsGilbert Kabanda Rukemba
HealthMinister of Public Health, Hygiene And PreventionJean-Jacques Bungani Mbanda
JusticeMinister of State, Minister of Justice and Keeper of the SealsRose Mutombo Kiese
AgricultureMinister of AgricultureDésire Nzinga Bilihanzi
Minister of Fisheries and LivestockAdrien Bokele Djema
EnergyMinister of Water Resources and ElectricityOlivier Mwenze Mukaleng
Natural ResourcesMinister of HydrocarbonsDidier Budimbu Ntubuanga
Minister of MinesAntoinette Nsamba Kalambayi
EducationMinister of Primary, Secondary And Technical Education (EPST)Tony Mwaba Kazadi
Minister of Higher and University EducationMuhindo Nzangi
Minister of Vocational Trainings and TradesAntoinette Kipulu Kabenga
EconomyMinister of National EconomyJean-Marie Kalumba Yuma
Minister of IndustryJulien Paluku Kahongya
Minister of State, Minister of Entrepreneurship and Small and Medium EnterprisesEustache Muhanzi
Minister of Foreign TradeJean-Lucien Bussa Tongba
Minister of Rural DevelopmentFrancois Rubota Masumbuko
Digital/ITMinister of Posts, Telecommunications, and New Information and Communication Technologies (PTNTIC)Augustin Kibassa Maliba Lubalala
Minister of DigitalDésiré Cashmir Eberande Kolongele
InteriorMinister of the Interior, Security, Decentralization and Customary AffairsDaniel Asselo Okito Wankoy
MediaMinister of Communications And MediaPatrick Muyaya Katembwe
EnvironmentMinister of The Environment And Sustainable DevelopmentEve Bazaiba Masudi
LaborMinister of Employment, Labor and Social WelfareMs. Ndusi Ntembe
OthersMinister of Regional IntegrationDidier Mazenga Mukanzu
Minister of Human RightsAlbert Fabrice Puela
Minister of State, Minister of the BudgetAimé Boji
Minister of Transport, Communication Routes and Opening UpCherubin Okende Senga
Minister of State, Minister of Town Planning and HousingPius Muabilu Mbayu Mukala
Minister of State, Minister of Regional PlanningGuy Loando Mboyo
Minister of State, Minister of PlanningChristian Mwando Nsimba
Minister of Social Affairs, Humanitarian Actions and National SolidarityModest Mutinga Mutushayi
Minister of State, Minister of Infrastructure and Public WorksAlexis Gizaro Muvuni
Minister of Scientific Research and Technological InnovationJosé Mpanda Kabangu
Minister of Culture, Arts and HeritageCatherine Katumbu Furaha
Minister of the Civil Service, Modernization of Administration and Innovation of the Public ServiceJean-Pierre Lihau Ebua
Minister of Gender, Family and ChildrenGisele Ndaya Luseba
Minister of Sports and RecreationSerge Tshembo Nkonde
Minister of Youth, Initiation to New Citizenship and National CohesionYves Zola Bunkulu
Minister of Relations with ParliamentAnne-Marie Karume Bakaneme
Minister of State, Minister of PortfolioAdele Kahinda Mayina
Minister of Land AffairsAimé Sakombi Molendo
Minister of TourismModero Nsimba Matondo
Minister to the PresidentNana Manwanina Kiumba

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (PPRD)2002332
Alliance of the Democratic Forces of Congo and Allies (AFDC-A)200
Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS)1980301
Movement for the Liberation of Congo (MLC)1998300
Unified Lumumbist Party (PALU)300

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
People's Party for Reconstruction and Democracy (PPRD)50
Alliance of the Democratic Forces of Congo and Allies (AFDC-A)41
Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS-TSHISEKEDI)32
Alternative Action for Well-being and Change (AAB)30
People's Party for Peace and Democracy (PPPD)25
Social Movement (MS)24
Alliance of Actors for Good Governance of Congo (AABC)23
Alliance for the Future (AA/a)22
Movement for the Liberation of Congo (MLC)22
Alliance of Democrats for Renewal and Progress (ADRP)22
Alliance of Movements of Kongo (AMK)22
Unified Lumumbist Party (PALU) and allies17
Union for the Congolese Nation (UNC)16
Future of Congo (ACO)12
Alliance of Construction for an Emergent Congo (ABCE)11
Rally for the Reconstruction of Congo (RRC)11
Action of allies to improve living conditions for the Congolese (AAAC)10
Group of 7 (G7)11
Christian Democratic Party (PDC)10
Alliance for the overall transformation of Congo (ATIC)10
Stand Up Congo (CODE)8
Progressists' convention for the Republic (CPR)8
Dynamics of the Congolese Political Opposition (DO)8
Alliance for Democratic Alternative (AAD)10
Movement for the Integrity of the People (MIP)7
Alliance in the Unity (ADU)6
Alternative for the Republic (AR)9
Rainbow of Congo (ACC)5
Group 18 (G18)4
Party for the People's Revolution (PRP)1
United for the Republic (UREP)1
Alliance of Progressives for Congo (APCO)3
Number of parties winning seats34
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs10%
Voter turnout47.56%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Félix TshisekediCAP (UDPS)38.57
Martin FayuluLamuka34.83
Emmanuel Ramazani ShadaryFCC23.84
Total no of candidates21
Voter Turnout47.56%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority vote for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term).
  • NA: 439 members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote and 61 directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook