Cote d'Ivoire

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateAlassane Dramane Ouattara
Prime MinisterPatrick Jérôme Achi
Size of Cabinet38
National AssemblyAssemblée Nationale
Seats in NA252
Parties in NA>8 + 26 Indp
Female MPs in NA14.20%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held6
Next NA Elections2026
Next Presidential Elections2025

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentAlassane Dramane Ouattara
Vice-PresidentTiémoko Meyliet Koné
Secretary General of the PresidencyAbdourahmane Cisse
Chief of StaffMinister, Chief of Staff of the President of the RepublicFidele Gborton Sarassoro
Minister to the President of the Republic, in charge of Relations with the Institutions of the RepublicGilbert Koné Kafana
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterPatrick Jérôme Achi
FinanceMinister of Economy and FinanceAdama Coulibaly
Minister of Budget and State PortfolioMoussa Sanogo
ForeignMinister of State Foreign Affairs, African Integration and the DiasporaKandia Kamissoko Camara
DefenseMinister of DefenseTene Birahima Ouattara
HealthMinister of Public Hygiene and Universal Health CoveragePierre Dimba
JusticeMinister of Keeper of the Seals, Minister of Justice and Human RightsJean Sansan Kambile
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and Rural DevelopmentKobenan Kouassi Adjoumani
Minister of Animal and Fisheries ResourcesSidi Tiemoko Toure
EnergyMinister Mines, Petroleum and EnergyMamadou Sangafowa Coulibaly
Natural ResourcesMinister of Water and ForestsLaurent Tchagba
Minister of Hydraulics + Minister of SanitationBouaké Fofana
EducationMinister of Technical Education, Vocational Training and ApprenticeshipKoffi N'guessan
Minister of National Education and LiteracyMariatou Kone
Minister of Higher Education and Scientific ResearchAdama Diawara
EconomyMinister of Trade and Industry and SME PromotionSouleymane Diarrassouba
Digital/ITMinister of Digital Economy , Telecommunication, and InnovationAmadou Coulibaly
InteriorMinister of Interior and SecurityVagondo Diomanded
MediaMinister of Communication, Media and Francophonie, Government SpokespersonAmadou Coulibaly
EnvironmentMinister of Environment and Sustainable DevelopmentJean -Luc Assi
LaborMinister of Employment and Social ProtectionAdama Kamara
OthersMinister of Planning and DevelopmentNiale Kaba
Minister of TransportAmadou Kone
Minister of Construction, Housing and Town PlanningBruno Nabagne Kone
Minister of Public Service and Modernization of AdministrationAnne Désirée Ouloto
Minister of Culture and the Arts and Entertainment IndustryFrançoise Remarck
Minister of Equipment and Road MaintenanceAmedé Koffi Kouakou
Minister of Solidarity and the Fight against PovertyBelmonde Dogo
Minister of Women, Family and ChildrenNassénéba Touré
Minister of Tourism and RecreationSiandou Fofana
Minister of Sports Promotion and Sports Economy DevelopmentPaulin Claude Danho
Minister of Youth Promotion and Youth Employment, Deputy Government SpokesmanMamadou Toure
Minister of Reconciliation and National CohesionBertin Kouadio Konan
Minister of Promotion of Good Governance, Capacity Building and the Fight against Corruption:Epiphane Zoro Bi Ballo

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Democratic Party of Côte d'Ivoire-African Democratic Rally (PDCI-RDA)1946532
Rally of Houphouëtists for Democracy and Peace (RHDP)222
Ivorian Popular Front (FPI)1989501

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Rally of Houphouëtists for Democracy and Peace (RHDP)139
The Democratic Party of Ivory Coast- African Democratic Rally (PDCI-RDA-EDS)49
The Democratic Party of Ivory Coast- African Democratic Rally (PDCI-RDA)23
Together for Democracy and Sovereignity (EDS)7
The Union for Peace and Democracy in Ivory Coast (UPDCI)7
Ivorian Popular Front (FPI)1
Independents 26
Number of parties winning seats8<
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs12.94%
Voter turnout37.88%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
Alassane OuattaraRHDP94.27
Bertin Konan Kouadio Indp1.99
Henri Konan BédiéPDCI1.66
Pascal Affi N'GuessanFPI0.99
Total no of candidates4
Voter Turnout53.90%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a single renewable 5-year term
  • NA: Members directly elected in single- and multi-seat constituencies by simple majority vote to serve 5-year terms.

Source: CIA World Factbook