Country Data


Last updated

Oct, 2022

President/Head of StateMahamat Idriss Déby Itno
Prime MinisterSaleh Kebzabo
Size of Cabinetn/a
Female cabinet membersn/a
National AssemblyTransitional National Council
Seats in NA188
Parties in NA30
Female MPs in NA12.77%
Term of National Assembly4 Years
Term of President5 Years
Number of NA Elections held3
Number of PE held6
Next NA Elections2024
Next Presidential Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresident/Head of the transitional Miliatry CouncilMahamat Idriss Déby Itno
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterSaleh Kebzabo

Main political parties

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Patriotic Salvation Movement (MPS) - Mouvement patriotique du salut (MPS)1990336
National Union for Democracy and Renewal - Union nationale pour la démocratie et le renouveau (UNDR)300
Union for Renewal and Democracy - Union pour le renouveau et la démocratie (URD)1992300
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP)1991/199230

Last NA election results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Patriotic Salvation Movement (MPS)117
National Union for Democracy and Renewal (UNDR)10
Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP) JAMAA9
Union for Renewal and Democracy (URD)8
National Rally for Democracy in Chad (RNDT/ Le Réveil)8
National Rally for Democracy and Progress (Viva-RNDP)5
Federation Action for the Republic (FAR)4
Party for Unity and Reconstruction (PUR)2
Union for Democracy and the Republic (UDR) - Tabbat2
Democratic and Socialist Party for Alternation (PDSA)2
Chadian Convention for Peace and Development (CTPD)2
Number of parties winning seats30
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs12.77%
Voter turnout56.60%

Last Presidential election results

Presidential elections  
Idriss DébyMPS79.32
Albert Pahili PadacketNRDT10.33
Lydie BeassemdaPDI3.16
Total no of candidates10
Voter Turnout64.8%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (no term limits).
  • NA: 163 directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote and 25 directly elected in single-seat constituencies by absolute majority vote with a second round if needed; members serve 4-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook