Cape Verde

Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

Head of StateJosé Maria Pereira Neves
Prime MinisterJose Ulisses Correia e Silva
Size of Cabinet18
National AssemblyAssembleia Nacional
Seats in NA72
Parties in NA3
Female MPs in NA48.58%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held7
Number of PE held7
Next NA Elections2026
Next Presidential Elections2026

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentJosé Maria Pereira Neves
Head of GovernmentPrime MinisterJosé Ulisses Correia e Silva
FinanceDeputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Minister of Digital EconomyOlavo Correia
ForeignMinister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation and Regional IntegrationRui Alberto de Figueiredo Soares
DefenseMinister of State Defense of National Defence and Minister of Territorial Cohesion Janine Tatiana Santos Lélis
HealthMinister of Health Arlindo Nascimento do Rosário
JusticeMinister of JusticeJoana Gomes Rosa Amado
Agriculture/EnvironmentMinister of Agriculture and EnvironmentGilberto Gilberto Correia Carvalho Silva
Energy/EconomyMinister of Industry, Trade and EnergyAlexandre Dias Monteiro
EducationMinister of EducationAmadeu Cruz
Minister of Tourism and Transport Carlos Jorge Duarte Santos
OthersMinister of State, Family Inclusion and Social DevelopmentFernando Elísio Freire
Minister of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers and of Parliamentary Affairs Filomena Mendes Gonçalves
Minister of Internal AdministrationPaulo Augusto Costa Rocha
Minister of Culture and Creative Industries and Minister of SeaAbraão Aníbal Barbosa Vicente
Minister of infrastructure, Spatial Planning and HousingEunice Andrade da Silva Spencer Lope
Minister of CommunitiesJorge Santos
Minister of State, Modernization and Public AdministrationEdna Manuela Miranda de Oliveira
Minister of Sports and YouthCarlos Monteiro

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Movement for Democracy (MpD)744
African Party for the Independence of Cabo Verde (PAICV)1956733
Union for an Independent Democratic Cape Verde (UCID)400

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Movement for Democracy (MpD)38
African Party for the Independence of Cabo Verde (PAICV)30
Union for an Independent Democratic Cape Verde (UCID)4
Number of parties winning seats3
Number of parties contesting6
Female MPs48.58%
Voter turnout57.46%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections   
Jose Maria Pereira NevesPAICV51.7%
Carlos Alberto Wahnon de Carvalho VeigaMpD42.4%
Casimiro De PinaIndp1.81%
4 othersIndp4%
Total no of candidates
Voter Turnout48%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: Members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook