Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StatePaul Biya
Prime MinisterJoseph Dion Ngute
Size of Cabinet37
National AssemblyAssemblée Nationale
Seats in NA180
Parties in NA8
Female MPs in NA32.22%
Term of National Assembly5 Years
Term of President7 Years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE held5
Next NA Elections2023
Next Presidential Elections2025

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentPaul Biya
Head of GovernmentPrime MinistreJoseph Dion Ngute
FinanceMinister of FinancePaul Louis Motazse
ForeignMinister of External RelationsLejeune Mbella Mbella
HealthMinister of Public HealthMalachie Manaouda
DefenseMinister Delegate at the Presidency in Charge of DefenceJoseph Beti Assomo
JusticeMinister of State, Minister of Justice and Keeper of SealsLaurent Esso
AgricultureMinister of Agriculture and Rural DevelopmentGabriel Mbairobe
Minister of Livestock Fisheries and Animal IndustriesTaiga
EnergyMinister of Energy and Water RessourcesGaston Eloundou Essomba
Natural ResourcesMinister of Industry, Mines and Technological DevelopmentGabriel Dodo Ndoke
EducationMinister of Secondary EduactionPauline Nalova Lyonga Egbe
Minister of Basic EducationLaurent Serge Etoundi Ngoa
EconomyMinister of CommerceLuc Magloire Mbarga Atangana
Minister of Economy, Planning and Regional DevelopmentAlamine Ousmane Mey
Minister of Small and Medium- sized Enterprises Social Economy and HandicraftsAchille Bassilekin III
Digital/ITMinister of Posts and TelecommunicationsMinette Libom Lii Likeng nee Mendomo
Minister of Scientific Research and InnovationMadeleine Tchuinte
MediaMinister of CommunicationRené Emmanuel Sadi
EnvironmentMinister of the Environment, Protection of Nature and Sustainable DevelopmentPierre Helé
Minister of Forestry and WildlifeJules Doret Ndongo
LaborMinister of Employment and Vocational TrainingBakary Issa Tchiroma
Minister of Labor and Social SecurityGregroire Owona
OthersMinister of Public Service and Administrative ReformsJoseph Le
Minister of Arts and CulturePierre Ismaël Bidoug Kpwatt
Minister of Territorial AdministrationPaul Atanga Nji
Minister of Social AffairsPauline Irène Kendeck, née Nguene
Minister of Decentralization and Local DevelopmentGeorges Elanga Obam
Minister of State Property and Land TenureHenri Eyebe Ayissi
Minister of Housing and Urban DevelopmentCélestine Ketcha Courtès
Minister of Youth Affairs and Civic EducationMounouna Foutsou
Minister of Women Empowerment and FamilyMarie-Thérèse Abena Ondoa, née Obama
Minister of Sport and Physical EducationNarcisse Mouelle Kombe
Ministry of TransportJean Ernest Masséna Ngalle Bibehe
Ministry of Public WorksEmmanuel Nganou Djoumessi
Minister of State, Minister Tourism and LeisureBello Bouba Maigari
Minister of State, Minister of Higher EducationJacques Fame Ndongo
General SecretaryFerdinand Ngoh Ngoh

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NATimes Won at PE
Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (RDPC/CPDM)1966665
National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP)1991600
Social Democratic Front (SDF)1990500
Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC)1991500

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Cameroon People's Democratic Movement (RDPC/CPDM)152
National Union for Democracy and Progress (UNDP)7
Cameroon Party for National Reconciliation (PCRN)5
Social Democratic Front (SDF)5
Cameroon Democratic Union (UDC)4
Front for the National Salvation of Cameroon(FSNC)3
Movement for the Defense of the Republic (MDR)2
Union of Socialist Movement (UMS)2
Number of parties winning seats8
Number of parties contestingn/a
Female MPs32.22%
Voter turnout43.79%

Last Presidential elections results

Presidential elections  
Paul BiyaRDPC71.28
Maurice KamtoMRC14.23
Cabral LibiiUnivers6.28
Joshua OsihSDF3.35
Adamou Ndam NjoyaUDC1.73
Garga Haman AdjiADD1.55
Total no of candidates9
Voter Turnout53.85%

Voting System

  • PE: President directly elected by simple majority popular vote for a 7 year term (no term limits)
  • NA: Members indirectly elected by regional councils and 30 appointed by the president; members serve 5-year terms

Source: CIA World Factbook