Country Data


Last updated

Sep, 2022

President/Head of StateMokgweetsi Masisi
Prime Ministern/a
Size of Cabinet20
National AssemblyNational Assembly
Seats in NA65
Parties in NA4
Female MPs in NA5.26%
Term of National Assembly5 years
Term of President5 years
Number of NA Elections held6
Number of PE heldn/a
Next NA Elections2024

List of cabinet

Head of StatePresidentMokgweetsi E.K. Masisi
Vice-PresidentSlumber Tsogwane
Head of Governmentn/an/a
FinanceMinister of Finance and Economic DevelopmentPeggy O. Serame
ForeignMinister of International Affairs and Co-operationLemogang Kwape
Defense/Justice/InteriorMinister of Defence, Justice and SecurityThomas Kagiso Mmusi
HealthMinister of Health and WellnessEdwin Dikoloti
AgricultureMinister of Agricultural Development and Food SecurityKarabo Gare
Energy/Natural ResourcesMinister of Mineral Resources, Green Technology and Energy SecurityLefoko Maxwell Moagi
Minister of Land Management, Water and Sanitation ServicesKefentse Mzwinila
EducationMinister of Basic EducationFidelis Macdonald Molao
Minister of Tertiary Education, Research, Science and TechnologyDouglas Letsholathebe
EconomyMinister of Investment, Trade and IndustryMmusi Kgafele
Transport/ITMinister of Transport and CommunicationsThulaganyo Merafe Segokgo
EnvironmentMinister of Environment, Natural Resources Conservation and TourismPhildah Kereng
LaborMinister of Employment, Labour Productivity and Skills DevelopmentMpho Balopi
OthersMinister of Local Government and Rural DevelopmentEric Mothibi Molale
Minister of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture DevelopmentTumiso Macdonald Rakgare
Minister of Nationality, Immigration and Gender AffairsAnna Maria Mokgethi
Minister of Infrastructure and Housing DevelopmentThepelo Matsheka
Minister for Presidential Affairs, Governance and Public AdministrationKabo Neale Sechele Morwaeng

Main political party

Name of partyFoundationTimes Elected to NATimes Won at NA
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP)196266
Botswana Congress Party (BCP)199840
Botswana National Front (BNF)40
Umbrella For Democratic Change (UDC)201220

Last NA elections results

NA elections/Parties winning seatsSeats
Botswana Democratic Party (BDP)38
Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC)15
Botswana Patriotic Front (BPF)3
Alliance for Progressives (AP)1
Number of parties winning seats4
Number of parties contesting6
Female MPs5.26%
Voter turnout83.43%

Voting System

  • PE: President indirectly elected by the National Assembly for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term)
  • NA: 57 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote, 4 nominated by the president and indirectly elected by simple majority vote by the rest of the National Assembly, and 2 ex-officio members – the president and attorney general; elected members serve 5-year terms)

Source: CIA World Factbook